Education and Research is a core directorate of the Council. It comprises of the following departments

  1. Education and Training

  2. Library and Information Management

  3. Research and Development


The Council was in 2010 admitted into The International Air Cargo Association (TIACA). Also in 2010 the Council was admitted in the World Body of Freight Forwarders, the International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations (FIATA) as Nigeria’s representative.


In keeping with our statutory mandate, we commenced training and empowerment programmes in 2012. The programmes have been designed to address new entrants in the industry, general practitioners and the executive cadre. The under-listed programmes have been approved by the Council:

  1. Certificate in Freight Forwarding (CIFF): The certificate course is specifically designed for those who do not meet the entry requirements for the FIATA Diploma in Freight Forwarding and Supply Chain Management. Successful completion of this programmes qualifies candidates for the FIATA Diploma admission. Course duration is six (6) months.

  1. Executive Professional Diploma in freight forwarding (EPD) Supply chain Management: This programme is designed as an executive pathway for Certificate of Experience as provided in the CRFFN ACT to validate the experience and update the knowledge of experienced Chief Executive Officers (CEO) in the freight forwarding industries who have no less than 10 years experience through an intensive one week residential programme.

  1. FIATA Programmes: FIATA accredits programmes via established curricula across the globe. Accordingly, Nigeria was duly accredited by FIATA in October 2012 at the FIATA session in Los Angeles and October, 2013 at the FIATA Session in Singapore to run the FIATA Diploma and Higher Diploma in Freight Forwarding and Supply Chain management respectively. CRFFN currently runs two FIATA accredited programmes through accredited institutions across the country. These are:

1.Diploma in Freight Forwarding and Supply Chain Management (DFFSCM)

2. Higher Diploma in Supply Chain Management (HDSCM).

Note that these two programmes provide the professional pathway for practitioners and it is expected that every practitioner MUST have the FIATA DIPLOMA by 2021 or be deregistered)

d) Training of Trainers (ToT)

The CRFFN ToT is organized in accordance with FIATA standards to build capacity for teaching and research in freight forwarding and supply chain management. Consequently CRFFN has accredited training providers via the provisions of Sections 15 (1) – (4); 16 (1) – (5); 17 (1) – (4) to deliver these professional courses according to FIATA standards. These courses are not subject to any other Institution’s accreditation. Successful candidates are accredited as trainers in different levels. The FIATA ToT is usually carried out as a residential programme in two parts namely:

  1. The FIATA Diploma – Two (2) weeks

  2. The FIATA Higher Diploma – Two(2) weeks

The objectives of the training of trainers include the following:

  • To develop faculty capable of executing the FIATA programmes

  • To develop capacity for producing and updating the curricula

  • To enlarge the CRFFN pool of resource persons for use in ToT programmes across the nation and beyond

  • To fulfill a mandatory requirement for accreditation

  1. Education Service Providers (ESP)

In order to provide access to professional education in freight forwarding and supply chain management, the Council accredits relevant institutions. The Accreditation Process begins with expression of interest, payment of non-refundable application fee, accreditation visits, training of trainers, memorandum of agreement and issuance of certificate of accreditation. For more details contact the Education and research Directorate on + 2347032155958 0r email

Full accreditation is granted to institutions who meet the standard criteria for accreditation namely:

  1. Good learning environment

  2. Competent and adequate faculty

  3. Adequate learning resource materials

  4. Successful application (including payment of accreditation fees).

6.0 Ongoing Activities

  1. Accreditation of Umaru Ali Shinkafi Polytechnic, Sokoto

7.0 Upcoming Activities

  1. Graduation ceremony for graduands of the FIATA programmes

  2. Tailor made courses for corporate organizations

  3. Re-accreditation of partner institutions>

  4. Compliance visits to ESPs

  5. Dangerous Goods and International Trade Conferences and Workshops

Vii FIATA World Conference at Cape Town South Africa ( 1st -5th October, 2019)

The FIATA World Congress will be hosted in Cape Town, South Africa and will bring together global leaders, a comprehensive programme and sessions by industry leaders, presenting innovative and relevant discussions. Cape Town is one of the most beautiful cities in the world with a fascinating blend of cultures, flavour and history. The city is known for its harbour, natural setting in the Cape Floristic Region, and for landmarks such as Table Mountain and Cape Point.The 2019 Congress theme is "Where Technology and Logistics Meet" and the Congress Programme will focus on new technology and disruptive innovation and how this affects the Logistics and Freight Forwarding Industry worldwide.

  1. List of Accredited Education Service Providers (ESPs).





Redeemers’ University

Ede, Osun State


Benue State University (BSU)

Makurdi, Benue State


Certified Institute of Shipping (CIS) of Nigeria

Badagry Road, Lagos


Multimix Academy

Surulere, Lagos


Modibbo Adama University of Technology (MAUTECH)

Yola, Adamawa State


Maritime Academy Nigeria (MAN)

Oron, Akwa-Ibom State


Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO)

Owerri, Imo State


Nigeria Institute of Transport Technology (NITT)

Zaria, kaduna State


International Maritime Training Centre (IMTC)

Ikoyi, Lagos


Fortune Business School (FBS)

Ajah – Lagos


Emdee Shipping and Maritime College (ESMC)

Olodi Apapa, Lagos


Global Maritime Academy (GMA)

Warri, Delta State


Sydney Gateway Limited

Warri, Delta State


University of Lagos (UNILAG)

Akoka-Yaba, Lagos


University of Nigeria (UNN)

Nsukka, Enugu State